Eggnog Primaries?

I mentioned in my short post yesterday that Michigan was moving their primary up to January 12, 2008. At first, I didn’t think that it would force many changes to the priamry schedule, because it was not before Iowa or New Hampshire, and was not a Southern state, allowing S.C. to keep it’s current date of January 19. Unfortunately, I forgot about spacing requirements, which are, apparently,  mandatd by Iowa and New Hampshire law. The new schedule may force Iowa into December after all. An explanation from www.electromneyin2008.com:

New Hampshire would likely have their primary on January 8 if this happens, which I’m sure they’re happy to do. Iowa law requires at least 7 days before the New Hampshire primary…so that takes us to New Years Day! And since Iowa usually does their caucus on a Saturday, we’d be looking at Dec. 29.

Iowa does not want to move into December, but it does not look like they have a choice. Unless IA or NH changes their state laws, we are going to be starting the voting in 2007, Electing the President in 2008, and watching him(her) take office in 2009.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Eggnog Primaries?

  1. I believe I read somewhere that Iowa’s governor said he would change laws if he had to keep iowa’s caucus in Jan. I haven’t researched it again yet, but I believe someone write about it on race42008.com.

  2. jrcutler

    Yep, I heard that also. I wish the other states would have thought of how it would mess everyone else up. They better not have it in December, I couldn’t participate because I’d be gone for Christmas! That’d be lame. I hope Chet can push something through, he’d be a pal, even if he is a democrat and made Nussl lose.

Leave a Reply

